California Expands Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirement

California employers have been feeling the effects of the #metoo movement for the past year, but the state you’ve grown to love (just not in that way) has recently updated its sexual harassment prevention training requirements. 

Under the new law, by January 1, 2020, and once every 2 years thereafter, employers with 5 or more employees—including temporary or seasonal employees—must provide:

  • At least 2 hours of classroom or other effective interactive training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees within 6 months of their assumption of a supervisory position; and
  • At least 1 hour of classroom or other effective interactive training and education regarding sexual harassment to all non-supervisory employees within 6 months of their assumption of a non-supervisory position.

As a reminder, under current law, employers with 50 or more employees must provide at least 2 hours of classroom or other effective interactive training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees within 6 months of their assumption of a supervisory position and once every 2 years.

We know that ruling your world means knowing the ever-changing rules and requirements and here’s some help. Moore Benefits offers Traning360 at NO COST to our clients, which includes the module for this training. So that’s just one more great reason to do business with us! My team of employee benefits and health insurance experts are ready to answer any questions or help with this stuff.

Learn Moore:

California says #MeToo: What employers need to know
https://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/california-says-metoo-what-employers-23696

Spread the love